Our team

Message from the school director

 

Greetings BVMS family and community!

 

As we embark on a school year unlike any we have yet experienced, all of us at Brownsville Ascend Middle School are deeply committed to ensuring that this year is stronger than ever before. We are working to ensure that every scholar is connected to their teachers and community, that every scholar is challenged academically, and that every scholar is supported socially and emotionally. 


BVMS, and the Ascend Network as a whole, has been working tirelessly this summer to design a remote and hybrid learning program that empowers, equips, and pushes all of our scholars. A few key components of our remote program are: 

•    Remote start: We are starting the school year in remote learning mode for all students. Full days (8:00am to 3:00pm) Monday-Thursday and half day (8:00am to 1pm) on Friday. All students will learn at home through at least November 24.
•    One-to-one technology: All students in need of a laptop will be issued their own BVMS laptop. For families without reliable access to the internet, we will support you with accessing free services from local providers or hotspots.
•    Exceptional, live instruction: Your child’s teachers will deliver live and online high-quality lessons. Your child will participate in these lessons alongside their peers, just as they would in a physical classroom.
•    Consistent daily schedule: Students will follow a consistent daily schedule of classes and breaks, allowing you to plan ahead and establish routines.

BVMS is a community that is dedicated to excellence and equity. We know that the only way of ensuring we strive – each and every day – towards these twin mandates is through partnership with you, our families. This year, more than ever, family-and-school partnerships will be one of the defining factors of students’ success. We stand in gratitude for the work you have put in to make remote learning possible for your children, and we look forward to continuing to partner with you into this next school year and beyond. 

 

In partnership, 

Lauren Kinrich

Our leadership team

 

School Director

Lauren Kinrich

lauren.kinrich@ascendlearning.org

Assistant Principal of Operations

Amanda Cunniff

amanda.cunniff@ascendlearning.org

Assistant Principal, Humanities and Culture

Caitlin Davidson

caitlin.davidson@ascendlearning.org

Assistant Principal, Science, Math and Culture

Cora Neville

cora.neville@ascendlearning.org

Our culture & clinicians team

 

Culture Associate, Grades 5 and 6

Kwame Douglin

kwame.douglin@ascendlearning.org

Clinician, Grade 5 and 6

Calli Kaplan

calli.kaplan@ascendlearning.org

Culture Associate, Grades 7 and 8

Dashun Duran

dashun.duran@ascendlearning.org

Clinician, Grade 7 and 8

Nell Ross

nell.ross@ascendlearning.org

Student Services Coordinator

Renee Adetimirin

renee.adetimirin@ascendlearning.org

Our operations team

 

Operations Associate

Chandanie Orgias 

chandanie.orgias@ascendlearning.org

Operations Manager

Christine Padilla

christine.padilla@ascendlearning.org

Culture at Ascend​
Our teaching staff​
Grade 5

Ashley Grant - English

ashley.grant@ascendlearning.org

Carys Meyer - English

carys.meyer@ascendlearning.org


Prince Worrell - Math

prince.worrell@ascendlearning.org


Savannah Rowe - Math

santeria.rowe@ascendlearning.org


Kay Gardner - Science

kayhesha.philizaire@ascendlearning.org


Danya Shneyer - Science and Math

danya.shneyer@ascendlearning.org


Langston Jones - Social Studies

langston.jones@ascendlearning.org


Sean Strausbaugh - Social Studies and ELA

sean.strausbaugh@ascendlearning.org

Matts Michel - Special Education

matts.michel@ascendlearning.org

Grade 6

Ania-Lisa Etienne - English

anialisa.etienne@ascendlearning.org

Portia Stanley - English

portia.stanley@ascendlearning.org

Natasha Richardson - Math

natasha.richardson@ascendlearning.org

Stephon Harris - Math

stephon.harris@ascendlearning.org

Rachael Sheridan - Science

rachael.sheridan@ascendlearning.org

Eric Abrecht - Science and Math

eric.abrecht@ascendlearning.org

Alicia Neville - Social Studies

alicia.neville@ascendlearning.org

Arturo Rojas - Social Studies and ELA

arturo.rojas@ascendlearning.org

Grade 7

Simone Gale - English

simone.gale@ascendlearning.org

Alicja Bronowicki - English

alicja.bronowicki@ascendlearning.org

Minnyonne Davis - Math

minnyone.davis@ascendlearning.org

Melissa Pierce - Math

melisa.pierce@ascendlearning.org

Santeria Rome - Science

santeria.rome@ascendlearning.org

Tameka Wilson - Science and Math

tameka.wilson@ascendlearning.org

Ranae Overstreet - Social Studies

ranae.overstreet@ascendlearning.org

John Miller - Social Studies and English

john.miller@ascendlearning.org

Grade 8

 

Michele McNelis - English

michele.mcnelis@ascendlearning.org

Nicole Turner - Math

nicole.turner@ascendlearning.org

Saman Marji - Math

saman.marji@ascendlearning.org

James Kelly - Science

james.kelly@ascendlearning.org

Zhou Biao Cai - Science and Math

zhuobiao.cai@ascendlearning.org

Ian Ulmer - Social Studies

ian.ulmer@ascendlearning.org

Emily Benn - Social Studies and English

emily.benn@ascendlearning.org

Specials team

Genciano Clotter - PE

genciano.clotter@ascendlearning.org

LaShauna Flowers - Dance

lashauna.flowers@ascendlearning.org

Irene Manoussos - Yoga/Mindfulness

irene.manoussos@ascendlearning.org

Ashlin Randolph - Art

ashlin.randolph@ascendlearning.org

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle